TROPHY VAGLIANO-Team Europe-Royal Dornoch Golf Club-Scotland

TROPHY VAGLIANO-Team Europe-Royal Dornoch Golf Club-Scotland

The EGA is delighted to confirm the first six players of the 2023 Continent of Europe Vagliano Trophy Team. Selection for the team recognizes the players’ outstanding achievements in the amateur game.


The Vagliano Trophy is a biennial match between the best female amateur players from Great Britain & Ireland and the Continent of Europe. The contest will take place for the first time in four years at Royal Dornoch, Scotland on 30 June and 1 July, after the 2021 edition was cancelled due to Covid restrictions.

The six players will be joined by two further selections following The R&A Women’s Amateur Championship next week.

The team will be captained by Ane Urchegui García, a former Spanish international team player, who led the Continent of Europe teams to victory at the 2017 and 2019 Junior Vagliano Trophy matches.


“I am very honoured to be Captain of the Continent of Europe women’s team for the first time alongside some of the best amateur players in the world” said Urchegui García, who succeeds to Italy’s Anna Roscio as captain.


“I have great memories of the past editions as captain of the Junior Vagliano Trophy team. We will carry the same goal into this year’s match, enjoyment of the moment, friendship, gratitude, sportsmanship, discipline, motivation, teamwork, and love for golf. That is the best recipe to fight for the prestigious Vagliano Trophy”.

The selected players will follow in the footsteps of Solheim Cup stars Anna Nordqvist, Carlota Ciganda, Céline Boutier and major champion, Sophia Popov, who have all formerly represented the Continent of Europe in the match.


Royal Dornoch will set the stage for both the Vagliano and Junior Vagliano matches this year. Having formerly hosted the Jacques Léglise Trophy in 2015, the course is consistently ranked amongst the best in Scotland and the world.


About the Vagliano Trophy


The Vagliano Trophy is a biennial match played between eight-player teams from the Continent of Europe and Great Britain & Ireland. The EGA selects the Continent of Europe team, while the GB&I side is selected by The R&A.


The Vagliano Trophy was presented by André Vagliano to the French Golf Federation and the Ladies’ Golf Union in 1931, originally for an annual match between Great Britain and Ireland and France. The format was changed in 1959 to include the entire Continent.


The match takes place over two days. Four foursomes matches in the morning and eight singles matches in the afternoon are played on both days with 24 total points available to the teams.


This year’s match will be the 32nd between GB&I and the Continent of Europe. Both teams have won 15 times each since 1959, with one match halved. The Continent of Europe team is looking for their eighth consecutive win, with Great Britain & Ireland’s last victory coming in 2005.



Dear users, this website stores cookies on your computer.
Their purpose is to improve your website experience while providing you with more personalized services. Cookies are also used for ads personalisation. If you would like more information about the cookies we use, please see our Privacy Policy. By accepting cookies, you consent to their use. You can also adjust their settings. If you refuse cookies, your information will not be tracked when you visit this site. Only one cookie will be used in your browser to remember your preference not to be tracked.
Edit cookies setting